Katz’s Delicatessen: A Delicious Destination in the Lower East Side By: Rosie Gellman

Walking through the Lower East Side, I have to admit that I found the greatest, and most satisfying, attraction to be Katz’s Delicatessen. And apparently, I was not the only one who favored this legendary neighborhood deli, as the line was literally out the door.
They had every deli food one could possibly be craving, and everything, at least everything I tried, was absolutely delicious. Of course, since I did pay $16.00 for my roast beef sandwich, I expected it to be delicious, or else I would not have been very happy. Had the prices not been so outrageous though, I most certainly would have splurged on food. I have gone to Katz’s with my dad a few times on previous trips to New York, when my funds were not really as limited, and everything I tried, from Matzo Ball Soup to hot dogs to french fries to Dr. Brown’s Black Cherry soda were all outstanding. It’s the kind of place where you go if you just feel like eating and⎯ if you feel like spending the money⎯ eating a lot. Even as you wait in line, they feed you free samples of whatever it is you are ordering and anything else that you request, which is certainly a perk of the restaurant.
I would definitely recommend that anyone visiting the Lower East Side, or rather anyone visiting New York in general, try a bite at Katz’s Delicatessen. The food is excellent and certainly worth the price at least to experience it once. Even Harry and Sally went there on their notorious date scene in the movie, so there must be something good about the place. Plus, after finishing eating at Katz’s, one can just walk almost next door to find baked goods and knish galore. Katz’s offers a great deli meal and experience that, in my opinion, can be enjoyed by all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

