Blue Door: An Informal Review by Jeff Storer, Duke University Theater Studies Professor

Bluedoor1

All right. I see and make a lot of theater. Tonight in New York City, I saw one of the best plays/productions I have ever seen. THE BLUE DOOR at Playwrights Horizons (

42nd street between 9th and 10th avenues.)

It was stunning in its simplicity, its power, and in its ability to totally involve. For my money, it was everything good theater should be.  It was pitch perfect, provocative and I plan on digesting it over a long period to come.

If you are in the NYC area (productions also scheduled this year at ACT in San Francisco, Seattle Rep, and hopefully at Manbites Dog) don’t miss this show.

It’s hard to describe. It lasts 90 minutes. Two remarkable performances, playing many different characters. It’s about the way we choose to relate to our heritage and how we choose to use our heritage to understand our lives.  It’s about fathers and sons and brothers. It’s about the often hollow sound of academic intellectuals. It’s about the blue door. And I’m still not sure what that’s about. But I haven’t stopped wondering since I left the theater.  It’s about the horror of oppression and how and IF we learn from the past.  It’s about the courage to change and the courage to see what’s right before our eyes. There are no chandeliers or helicopters, just two chairs, two tables and a hat. But it’s unlike any two person show I’ve ever seen. I laughed and I wept. It was way better than CATS.

I’m addicted to theater that alters the way I look at life and challenges my complacency. And I haven’t had a fix like this in a long time. I’m always hesitant about recommending anything.  Everyone has their own tastes and I wonder, who am I to say what I like, you will like. But this one. I throw down the gauntlet and encourage you to wage the battle. Oh yeah. And when it’s all over and done with it is supremely ENTERTAINING. Who says entertainment can’t reach, teach, and inspire.

-Jeff Storer

For more information about Blue Door, check out the Playwrights Horizons website.

Bluedoor2Please post reactions to Blue Door and comments about Jeff’s review below. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Performances

Leave a Reply

