Guest Blogger: Ally

On Saturday night I saw an opera, voluntarily, and loved
it.   Ok, so it wasn’t exactly a
traditional opera, but it was technically an opera nonetheless: Rent. This was my third time seeing it, and it was
just aRent_castrecordings incredible this time, maybe even more so, than the first two. As most of you, or probably all of you,
already know, I am not exactly what you would call a theater person. It takes a lot for me to really get in to a
show and actually want to go. However, I
absolutely LOVE Rent. As I said, I have
seen it three times and I would definitely see it again.

Rent is one of those shows that grows on you. The first time I saw it I was really
confused, but I still liked the music and enjoyed it despite not being exactly
sure what was going on. (I was also 12
or 13 so some of the content definitely went right over my head). Anyway, I started listening to the songs a
lot after the first show and it started to make a lot more sense.

I also got to the point where I knew every
single word to the entire show (I still do). Now seeing it
this time, the experience was so different. I saw it with Dylan and our friend Amanda who
was visiting, both of whom had never seen it before, although Dyl knew the
music/story and had seen the movie. The
cast was totally different from the other times I saw the show, and Tamyra Gray
was absolutely AMAZING as Mimi. During
“Out Tonight” it was incredible to watch her dance the way she was and still
manage to keep her voice from wavering at all. I walked out of the show and was just in such a good mood. I had the songs stuck in my head for the next
few days.

This is what I went in to Spring Awakening expecting. I thought I was going to absolutely love the
show and want to listen to the soundtrack immediately. However, I was not as taken with it as I was
with Rent. I found some of the plot
confusing and rushed. I did like some of
the songs a lot but I think I would need to have a pretty good understanding of
the plot before I saw it again, which I do eventually want to do. I think part of the problem that led to my
disappointment was the fact that I was expecting something entirely
different. I had been expecting a
full-fledge comedy, not a tragedy where two of the main characters die by the
end.

1 Comment

Filed under Guest Blogger, Music, NYC Events, Performances

One response to “Guest Blogger: Ally

  1. Miriam

    Spring Awakening takes some getting used to, that’s for sure. And it certainly doesn’t leave you as uplifted as the ending of RENT.

Leave a Reply

